[-]
Main Menu
Portal
Forums
Wiki
Rules
FAQs
Events Calendar
Downloads

[-]
Latest Threads
Where Are You Now?
Last Post: Tales23
11-24-2020 06:53 PM
» Replies: 16
» Views: 435
What is glistening
Last Post: Xigo
08-17-2020 10:19 AM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 3014
You are a fond memory. Good night, CoTH...
Last Post: CappnRob
05-01-2020 08:05 PM
» Replies: 32
» Views: 86076
You Can't Go Home Again
Last Post: Scout
03-15-2019 09:24 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 2592
"Years of Service" Awards
Last Post: Maulbane
05-26-2018 09:58 PM
» Replies: 100
» Views: 3418

[-]
Who's Online
There are currently no members online.

[-]
Google AdStuff

Anski Needs Help: Installing Cataclysm
#1
Hi friends. I felt as though this semi-unique problem needed it's own thread.

I have an installer exe, for PC, that I downloaded off the intertubes. It's a basic level cataclysm disc, except not the disc. Knowingly, I backed up my COTH-WoW into a new copy, and unknowingly, tried to install it over the original copy, leaving my new COTH-WOTLK copy in tact, as a sort of genetic master key in case everything went wrong. This, in effect, installed Cataclysm on this duplicate copy. I left during the installation and came back, seeing that it was preparing to patch. Knowing this is bad news bears for our server since it'll try to autopatch to the latest version and build, I stopped it midway, and now the wow.exe gets a wow error.

Naturally, i'll always have the backup COTH-WOTLK copy for constant cloning, but I was wondering if anyone with some know-how would help this poor girl not want to bash her keyboard across the wall. How do I install to our patch level with a disc installer, without it wanting to leap to Blizzard and find out what patch they're really on?
[Image: wMRLoCF.gif]
PM
Reply
#2
I'd suggest going here and downloading the appropriate patches, and updating manually with them.

If it's not a "full" patch (i.e. the patch in question packaged with all those that preceded it,) you'll need to install them one by one, starting right after your current version. If you're getting a WoW.exe error, you might also need to run Repair.exe.

Good luck!
i am geko
i live heer
and my favorite food is crikkits
PM
Reply
#3
Well, that I am quite used to, the manual patching. The issue is that I'm trying to install Cataclysm without it going right up to the topmost patch. It has to be on the internet to install, and as soon as it does, it tries to start patching immediately. I can't have that happen or else it'll-

Wait.


Our patch is the last patch released for Cataclysm.


Gee. Shoulda read.

Regardless, I'll post back after I see what happens when I just let it do it's thing.
[Image: wMRLoCF.gif]
PM
Reply
#4
/nodnod.

But, if you download the full patch file, you can actually disconnect the internet completely and let it patch - it won't try to go to the latest version, then.
i am geko
i live heer
and my favorite food is crikkits
PM
Reply
#5
So I just kind of let it go, and it installed up to 4.0.0.12911. I tried running wow.exe, and got the same error as before, and it won't patch up automatically anymore. I tried using the repair and it said that I should reinstall WoW, which isn't really an option. I guess at this point, unless someone has a better idea, I'll just go ahead and start the long journey to manually patch up back to COTH level, in hope that it'll fix whatever is wrong.
[Image: wMRLoCF.gif]
PM
Reply
#6
Perhaps you should use the torrent that just gives you the 4.3.4 folder all-together? Or are there complications with using that?
Quote:[8:53AM] Cassius: Xigo is the best guy ever. he doesn't afraid of anything.
PM
Reply
#7
I can't torrent on my network, or else I would.

In other news: I hit another snag. Manual patching has a part where it's supposed to have the launcher do the patching, since one single tiny patch didn't come with a patch installer executable. I can't keep patching up from here without it and the launcher, despite any repair, will just not do it. I don't know what to do from this point. :\
[Image: wMRLoCF.gif]
PM
Reply
#8
Were you able to manually patch? How did you fix this? I noticed you've been in-game...
I Am the Sea



Need an easy way to host/link files and images? Check this thread!

Try to never just say, "My character isn't interested in that adventure." A lot of people mistake this for good roleplaying, because you are asserting your character's personality. Wrong. Good roleplaying should never bring the game to a screeching halt. One of your jobs as a player is to come up with a reason why your character would be interested in a plot. After all, your personality is entirely in your hands, not the DM's. Come up with a reason why the adventure (or the reward) might appeal to you, no matter how esoteric or roundabout the reasoning. -(Source)
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Can't launch cataclysm Wilkinson3424 6 1,181 08-24-2014, 01:10 PM
Last Post: Wilkinson3424
  Installing Cataclysm 4.3.4a Telekinellican 27 6,883 05-28-2014, 12:33 PM
Last Post: Stealthscout
  At a complete lost with installing WoW Gina 8 1,043 06-03-2013, 04:01 AM
Last Post: Gina
  Cataclysm client error? Kira13 1 707 04-20-2013, 11:46 PM
Last Post: Reigen
  Connecting and Installing WoW Rythorne 20 1,929 10-02-2012, 11:25 AM
Last Post: Nikodemos



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

youth-backhand
This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.