Conquest of the Horde

Full Version: Hodge's introduction
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First and foremost: Tell us about yourself, as a player:

I started playing EQ around '99, full of expectation that these new-fangled mmorpg things were going to recapture the fun and excitment of my teenage years playing pen and paper rpgs.
It soon became apparent that that wasn't going to happen, yet the novelty of working with and getting to know (ooc) players from all over the world was enough...I was hooked for a couple of years or so.
Once the novelty wore off I found myself less and less satisfied by the loot and levelling aspects of the game.... I needed something more to keep me hooked....it wasn't there so I quit.

A friend dragged me to WoW and then quit, I loitered around for six months or so until the "new-game" factor wore off. Then the disappointment that none of these games seemed to involve any actual rp kicked in.

On the verge of quitting, I decided to give a new server a try and couldn't believe my luck when my first day saw a chance meeting in the pub in Thelsamar lead to me getting dragged into a major conflict between two guilds, one an offshoot of the Scarlet Crusade and the other a resistance movement dedicated to halting this Scarlet Inquisition's growing political influence in Stormwind..... late '06 (I think it was?) on Darkmoon Faire really was an increadible time for rp....this was what I'd been longing for all along. EVERYBODY rp'd. A "lol" in /say would draw an immediate response from a dozen or more people pointing out that this was an rp realm etc etc....it was great.