Conquest of the Horde

Full Version: A small(ish) boquet of questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
It goes without saying that I am new here, but I want to get an idea of what to expect before I head in-game. I have plenty of prior experience with roleplaying, but I'm curious as to how CotH compares to some of the other RP environments I've inhabited before.

I may ask more questions in this thread as they come to mind, but the first salvo is regarding GMs -- what do they do, exactly? Can they be seen in-game, or are they/can they be invisible?
For example, in Neverwinter Nights, a Dungeon Master:
  • Is nearly omnipotent.
  • Can choose whether or not to be visible to players.
  • Manipulates the world from an OOC standpoint to enhance the experience of those who are IC, but can also "go IC" by controlling and emoting/speaking through mobs, or providing narration.
  • Can freely spawn any monster, NPC, or item.
  • Can change anything about a player's appearance or stats at will.
  • Holds the fate of everyone in their hands, in more ways than one.
  • Is a volunteer who is either a member of the admin team, or has (we hope) been carefully interviewed, handpicked, and trained by the server administration to provide the best possible experience to the server at large.

As you can probably guess, the DMs had a whole lot of responsibility and a ton of clout. Are GMs in CotH similar, or are they more like moderators with less direct power over the world?
First of all, welcome to the server.
From what I gather from my personal experience in events and outside events aswell, GMs can become invisible and spawn mobs/items. I've never seen one changing stats or anything. I think if you want to become an admin you will have to make an application first and go through a test phase.

Hope this helps.