Conquest of the Horde

Full Version: Chocolate-Filled Introduction!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
  • First and foremost: Tell us about yourself, as a player:
I'm an avid gamer and roleplayer who spends a LOT of their time on the internet. As a roleplayer, I have found that my interests are almost completely tied to things connected to a grand mystery accompanied by a sense of pervasive danger that you ((me)) might not even understand, yet the danger itself is undeniable ((thus 'pervasive')). I love dramatic problems and ominous threats. As such, I've found that I shy away from most combat encounters in roleplay unless it serves as a way to further how dire a situation might be, or as a fight to wrest the truth from the bad guys/whoever is in your way. Anyway, here's how my experience as a roleplayer has changed me;

I've been roleplaying for 11 years or so, and those interests are what I feel defines my roleplay the most, which in turn defines me as a roleplayer. I've also found that what I truly want in a roleplay is not to be the star player of a story. I always thought that this was the case, but I'm not sure I ever thought about what I would do when I was the 'star player'. I truly got my wish once, when I was given a very large, integral part of the story in an active roleplay setting with a story that interested me. Even so, I found that being in an important position like that wasn't all that thrilling. What was really thrilling to me was trying to develop relationships with other characters, to experience a grand story together with many IC (and OOC?) thrills and tackle mysteries - not how important my character was. I guess you could say it taught me a lesson that creating your own grand story for others to play in is incredibly redundant, because if you try too hard to be the 'important guy', you will miss out on what really makes roleplay fun, at least to me. If you create a