Conquest of the Horde

Full Version: Introducing: Thonorian
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First and foremost: Tell us about yourself, as a player:

This is an interesting one. Well, interesting relative to my perceptions, but of course yours may prove immensely different. This is the kind of thing that could probably be accounted for by entities greater than I. In any case, as a player I tend to put myself in to various roles while gaming. One could say that I'm a 'role' player. In all seriousness, no sentence I write outside of roleplay will start with those first three words there. Unless of course the situation calls for it.

....So then! I've been roleplaying for about five years now. I enjoy writing a great deal, and I'd very much like to be an author. I'm also a fan of thinking that I like talking to people, so roleplay is that happy medium where I'm capable of doing both at the same time.

If I were to say that I have any one goal when making a character, it's to make them sympathetic in spite of their other characteristics. I feel the most enjoyable sorts of characters are those that you can pat on the back so long as your patting them with a hand on the end of a six foot pole. If that makes sense.

The general (positive) results I tend to get from doing this usually bifurcate very extremely.
Either
a.) As intended, people will find my characters to be frustratingly distasteful in some ways, yet interaction is immensely rewarded not by sowing any seeds of hope for change, but rather by revealing a logical, understandable reasoning behind whatever seemingly irrational idiosyncrasies they possess.

Or
b.) People find the curious mannerisms and musings of my character entertaining, and as a result seek their company further.