Conquest of the Horde

Full Version: Immy Imagines: IC Interaction with the DM
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So here is another topic I hope to talk with the server.

Interacting with the DM In-Character:
Storytelling without Stealing the Spotlight Yourself

I've been DMing almost as long as I've been RPing, and let me tell you: despite the amount of stress, energy, and focus it demands, I can pull it off like I can breathe and love it all. My events aren't ever perfect, however, and I strive to get better with the storytelling content, battles, and results as much as I can. If there is one thing I always fear, however, regardless of what the story is and whom I'm RPing with, I'm always fearful of hogging the spotlight with my character.

This mostly goes back to the fact that I've been a writer longer than I've been an RPer, so naturally, my stories revolve around the characters I write, and the RPer is just following along. However, I realized the folly of my ways and started only RPing sidekicks and support characters, with bigger intentions to have the player be the hero (or even the villian, which does happen) in the story. However, even that was met with interesting observations in CotH, and not just in events I lead: every time there is an event where the DM doesn't RP their character except to lead them to a path (and from there, the players take initiative), the amount of emotional investment drops like a stone. The event becomes not much more than "fight bad guy, save the day", and they're seldom as memorable. At least, again, from what I've observed.